view counter

Editorial & Opinion | Opinion

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

As the world’s largest kosher food certification agency, we at the Orthodox Union know a few things about inspection programs. Our “OU” logo is on nearly one million food products made in more than 90 countries, and some age-old Jewish rules about kosher supervision are relevant to the current debate over the proposed Iran nuclear deal.

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

On Oct. 2, 2002, President George W. Bush asked and received authorization from Congress to go to war with Iraq. Just one month before, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu addressed the Congress saying, “If you take out Saddam, Saddam’s regime, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations in the region.” Nothing could have been further from the truth.

04/14/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

On Oct. 2, 2002, President George W. Bush asked and received authorization from Congress to go to war with Iraq. Just one month before, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu addressed the Congress saying, “If you take out Saddam, Saddam’s regime, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations in the region.” Nothing could have been further from the truth.

04/08/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

The framework tentatively agreed to by P5 + 1 world powers and Iran has been variously praised and condemned. The first thing a student in contract law learns is that an agreement to agree is not an agreement. What remains therefore is simply a draft that can be referred to as a guide for further discussion. 

04/07/2015 | | Opinion

On Oct.2, 2002, President George W. Bush asked and received authorization from Congress to go to war with Iraq.  Just one month before, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu addressed the Congress saying, “If you take out Saddam, Saddam’s regime, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations in the region.”  Nothing could be further from the truth. 

04/07/2015 | | Special To The Jewish Week | Opinion

When we received early tickets for the musical “Hamilton” at the Public Theater, I had doubts about going. What do I know about hip-hop music? I said to my husband. Give me Gershwin, Porter, Sondheim — they write songs I can relate to, but hip-hop with its rap lyrics, the musical form in this play, is for a different generation. Then the reviews came out, all raves, and we decided to dip our toes into the hip-hop waters. Boy, were we glad we did. The production is sheer delight, the music powerful, the lyrics brilliant.